These Are The 18 Presidential Candidates For 2023 Election As Campaign Begins Today

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has fixed Saturday, February 25, for the conduct of the 2023 presidential election in Nigeria.

In this light, INEC has also cleared eighteen (18) political parties and their candidates to participate in the much-anticipated election.

The campaign for the country’s number one political seat officially commences today, 28th September and the parties, as well as their candidates, have the opportunity to convince Nigerians on why they should be the ones to get their votes.

Below is a complete list of the presidential candidates for the 2023 elections and their political parties.

1. Accord Party (AP)Imumolen Christopher

39-year-old Christopher Irene Imumolen is an educationist, a university professor, a serial entrepreneur, and a business mogul.

2. Action Alliance (AA) – Al Mustapha Hamza

Al-Mustapha is a retired military officer turned politician who served as the Chief Security Officer to former Nigerian Head of State, Gen Sani Abacha.

He is 62 years old.

3. African Action Congress (AAC) – Omoyele Sowore

Born 16th February, 1971, Sowore is a publisher and human rights activist.

4. African Democratic Congress (ADC) – Kachikwu Dumebi

The ADC candidate is an entrepreneur, politician, businessman and also a philanthropist.

5. Action Democratic Party (ADP) – Sani Yabagi

Yabagi Yusuf Sani (Jakardan Nupe), meaning Ambassador of Nupe, is a Nigerian politician, Energy and Crude oil expert.

He is 65 years old.

6. All Progressives Congress (APC) – Bola Tinubu

Tinubu is a 70-year-old former Lagos State Governor and leader of his party, APC. His famous ’emi lokan’ (I am next) slogan is one of the trending words associated with the 2023 elections.

It is his first time contesting the presidential election.

7. All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) – Peter Chukwudi Umeadi

Umeadi hails from Anambra State and is a former Chief Judge of the state. He is a professor of law.

8. Allied Peoples Movement (APM) – Ojei Princess Chichi

She is the only female among the 2023 presidential candidates. Chichi hails from Delta State. She is an astute administrator who schooled both in Nigeria and overseas, is a corporate finance specialist and the executive director of Nuel Ojei Holdings.

9. Action Peoples Party (APP) – Nnadi Osita

He is 49 years old according to INEC data and the name of his running mate is Hamisu Isa.

10. Boot Party (BP) – Adenuga Oluwafemi

Mr. Adenuga is a businessman from Ogun State.

11. Labour Party (LP) – Peter Obi

Former Anambra State Governor, Peter Obi is the Labour Party candidate and has gained huge popularity among many Nigerians, particularly the youths.

12. New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) – Rabiu Kwankwaso

Kwankwaso is a former Kano State Governor seeking to replace President Muhammadu Buhari in 2023. The two-term Governor also served as Senator after leaving office.

13. National Rescue Movement (NRM) – Osakwe Johnson

Ambassador Osakwe is a preacher, diplomat and business management consultant. He hails from the Ukwani speaking area of Delta State.

14. Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) – Atiku Abubakar

Atiku is a former Vice President of Nigeria. He has a major task of uniting his party ahead of going to the polls to seek the vote of Nigerians.

15. Peoples Redemption Party (PRP) – Abiola Kolawole

Kola is the eldest son of the acclaimed winner of the annulled 1993 presidential election in Nigeria, late Chief MKO Abiola. He promised that if elected, his government will focus on social-oriented programmes targeted at the citizens.

16. Social Democratic Party (SDP) – Adebayo Adewole

Born 8 January 1972, Prince Adewole is a Nigerian Lawyer and Founder of KAFTAN TV.

17. Young Peoples Party (YPP) – Ado-Ibrahim Abdulmalik

The Kogi prince and businessman is one of the candidates seeking to emerge as the next president of Nigeria. He is married to Adama Indimi.

18. Zenith Labour Party (ZLP) – Dan Nwanyanwu

Nwanyanwu is a Nigerian politician, businessman and lawyer who was chairman of the Labour Party from 2004 until 2014.

He was born in November 1959.

You might also like

Leave a Reply

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More