UPDATED: INEC Declares Anambra Governorship Election Inconclusive

Suspends Collation Of Results For Anambra Governorship Election

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the governorship election held on November 6, in Anambra state inconclusive.

The Returning Officer for the Gubernatorial Election, Professor Florence Obi made the announcement at the INEC head office in Awka, Anambra capital stating that there was no election in Ihiala Local Government Area of the state.

INEC had also announced the postponement of the governorship election in Ihiala Local Government Area over alleged irregularities discovered in most communities in the council area.

Obi, the vice-chancellor of the University of Calabar while declaring the election inconclusive said “It becomes imperative to bring elections from Ihiala with other LG before valid declaration can be made,”  She also added that the “Supplementary election in Ihiala to hold on Tuesday, 9 Nov 21 and collation will resume thereafter.”

She declared that the election process remains suspended until after a supplementary election is held in all the polling units of Ihiala Local Government.

Obi also stated that according to the Nigerian Constitution it was mandatory for INEC to conduct election in the affected area before declaring a winner.

The supplementary election has been scheduled to hold on Tuesday the November 9, 2021.

Meanwhile, the candidate of the All Progressives Grand Alliance, (APGA), Professor Charles Soludo has been declared winner in 17 out of 21 local government election results so far declared in Anambra State.

The former governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) with the development, is moving closer to being officially declared as the winner of the 2021 Anambra governorship election.

See the breakdown of the results announced so far before collation was suspended;

2ANAMBRA EAST203497461380559APGA
3ANAMBRA WEST123319181401357APGA
5AWKA NORTH7551908840381APGA
6AWKA SOUTH2595128915498919APGA
10IDEMILI NORTH229153582312902APGA
11IDEMILI SOUTH103923122016752APGA
12IHIALANo ElectionNo ElectionNo ElectionNo ElectionNo Election
14NNEWI NORTH1278336915116485YPP
15NNEWI SOUTH1307324322261327APGA
17ONITSHA NORTH390955873781682APGA
18ONITSHA SOUTH205042812253271APGA
19ORUMBA NORTH267247871847655APGA
20ORUMBA SOUTH206043941672887APGA
Total Valid Votes229521
Total Rejected Votes7841
Total Votes Cast237362
You might also like

Leave a Reply

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com